The Verdict Is In – Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix Review 4
After trying the Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix with mixed results, I wasn’t sure what to expect from the Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix.  I was especially curious about this mix because I never made cookies from a mix even before going gluten-free – it was always from scratch. [aside: or from pre-made dough – didn’t you love it when they made the cookie dough that you didn’t even have to slice? You know the ones that are already broken up into individual cookie squares – I know, I go to the two extremes….]

The verdict? They are pretty good.  They are light and crispy, more towards a meringue or French almond macaroon than a chewy chocolate chip cookie.  The flavor is great though they could use more chocolate chips.

But I wasn’t content to leave well enough alone so I tried a second batch of cookies and added 3/4 cup of gluten-free oatmeal.  I didn’t change any of the other ingredients/directions.  They turned out slightly chewier and much more to my personal cookie preference.  And while I like oatmeal cookies, that wasn’t the goal here so the oatmeal was a small enough proportion that I wouldn’t label it an ‘oatmeal’ cookie.

Gluten-Free Oatmeal Cookie Recipe 2

For pure flavor and texture, I would still pick my Gluten-Free Orange Vanilla Dream cookies or my Gluten-Free Cranberry Oatmeal Delights, However, the new mix from Betty Crocker is a great option for a last minute, easy dessert.

Have you tried them yet?

Here are the ingredients of each of the mixes:

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix Ingredients: Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Sugar, Potato Starch, Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), Xanthan Gum, Salt.

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Devils Food Cake Mix Ingredients: Sugar, Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Cocoa Processed wtih Alkali, Tapioca Starch, Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), Salt, Guar Gum.

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Brownies Mix Ingredients: Sugar, Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), Cocoa Processed wtih Alkali, Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Corn Starch, Xanthan Gum, Salt.

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies Mix Ingredients: Rice Flour, Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), Brown Sugar, Sugar, Potato Starch, Potato Flour, Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate) Salt.

Pin It

» Betty Crocker - Gluten Free Cake Mixes and More! | A Gluten Free Guide said,

July 3, 2009 @ 10:00 pm

[...] Here is my review of the Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix [...]

Traci said,

July 3, 2009 @ 10:10 pm

I tried them & thought they were pretty good!! I had them fresh out of the oven with some vanilla ice cream. YUM! Adding oatmeal is a GREAT idea! THANKS!!

Elizabeth said,

July 24, 2009 @ 4:13 pm

Tried the Betty Crocker yellow cake mix and brownies. The yellow cake reminds me of a pound cake with a slight cornmeal texture (even though there isn’t any cornmeal). It was very good served with lemon curd, strawberries and whipped cream. The brownies were very good and if they weren’t so expensive ($3.29 at Fresh & Easy) I would replace my non-GF mix with this one. I added ground chocolate-covered espresso beans, chopped pecans and more chocolate chips. By the way, I only bake GF because my older sisters can’t eat wheat. As far as GF mixes go, these were extrememly easy to make and didn’t have an aftertaste like most GF mixes do.

» Gluten-Free Giveaway and Samples - Plus a Review of the GF Brownies and Chocolate Cake Mix from Betty Crocker | A Gluten Free Guide said,

July 28, 2009 @ 2:40 am

[...] after purchasing six-packs from Amazon.com for the Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix and the Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix from Betty Crocker, I received a sample pack from MyBlogSpark with all of the varieties.  I had an invite to a dinner [...]

Mary Jo said,

February 10, 2010 @ 6:00 pm

I find that the chocolate chip cookies are great made with Crisco. This makes them chewy.

The brownies are great, but I must admit I like them best with 1/2 c margarine. Then they are great.

Chocolate cake is great with fudge icing.

The yellow cake left me a little cold. I love yellow cake and this wasn’t it.

Mary Jo said,

February 10, 2010 @ 6:02 pm

Oh, oatmeal is not a gluten free item, so would defeat the purpose of gluten free.

A Gluten-Free Guide said,

February 12, 2010 @ 3:44 am

Thanks for the tips Mary Jo. I used certified gluten-free oats.

Adrienne said,

April 2, 2010 @ 8:08 pm

I actually just made a batch of the Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Chip cookies. While the taste is pretty good, the texture of the dough and the finished cookies afterward leave a lot to be desired. The dough is gritty feeling and you can feel some grittiness in the cookies as well. The other problem I found with them is that they bake up thin, more like wafers. They rise nicely in the oven but as soon as you set the finished cookies to cool they deflate like an old balloon. I’m glad Betty Crocker is at least trying to meet the needs by producing a gluten-free option, but I can’t help but think that there’s room for improvement. Still, as opposed to going without, I guess in an “emergency” ;) situation they’ll do.

Robert Fullerton said,

April 4, 2010 @ 10:41 pm

Chocolate Chip Cookies need work, fell apart too thin—
way too sugary/grainy, better cookie choice is BOB’S RED
MILL.. gluten free mix. available at our HEB Super Markets in Texas.

Nicole said,

April 7, 2010 @ 12:42 am

These are the best GF cookies I’ve had after about trying about 10 mixes!!!!
However to make these really good (i.e. chewy and thick)— after making the dough, form into rather large balls (~3T I’d say or whatever size you want your final cookies to be). Then freeze the balls. Place them frozen on a pre-heated pizza stone in the oven at 400F (i.e., just let the stone pre-heat with the oven). And, as with most GF items you mustn’t overcook these. I’d give them ~12-15 mins at most.

Michelle G. said,

December 17, 2010 @ 7:30 am

I did what you suggested & added 3/4 cup gf oats to the BC choc. chip cookie mix & they were amazing!My family were delighted. I liked the BC mix fine before(although a little gritty & flat) but with the addition of the oats something magical happened & they seemed like regular cookies. Thank you so much for that tip.

Michael said,

December 30, 2010 @ 5:42 pm

The BC choc chip cookie mix first time I made them – not very good. Used egg replacement instead of real egg. This isn’t a good option.
Next time, used a real egg and they were better but not great.
3rd time, added a 1/4 tsp real vanilla and a pinch of cimmamon. Also added a little almond milk and an extra pinch of xantham gum. The dough was easier to work with and the cookies were a bit softer. Not bad at all. I will continue to experiment and post the results.

Angela D. said,

January 31, 2011 @ 9:31 pm

I, too, made the BC chocolate chip cookies with egg replacement. I also used Fleischman’s unsalted veg. oil spread, as we are dairy free. Following the directions on the box, just stirring together the “butter” (spread), egg replacer and vanilla didn’t work. When I added the cookie mix, there wasn’t enough wet ingredients to pull the dough together. I took out my Kitchenaid mixer and added another 1/2 stick of spread to another egg replacer and tsp. vanilla. I was able to cream together these ingredients and then add the cookie mix (with the first stick of spread, vanilla and egg replacer.)
When I scooped them with a medium cookie scoop, the dough was not crumbly, as it claimed it would be on the box. (Probably since I had added to the recipe!) My cookies took 17 minutes to bake at 350 and they still weren’t very golden. The next tray I baked at 375 and that seemed to produce a more golden color. Both trays I allowed the cookies to cool on the hot sheet for a minute or two. My cookies are not flat, but 1/4 to 1/2 inch high. I noticed a gritty texture, but hot out of the oven with Silk milk–yum!

John said,

May 10, 2011 @ 6:45 am

I find that the chocolate chip cookies are great made with Crisco.and these are the best brownies i am gonna make it for my GF .

Heidi said,

November 28, 2011 @ 3:17 am

I added extra butter, a 1/2 cup of oats, a 1/2 cup of milk and an extra egg and they had the texture of regular cookies. They were still a bit crumbly to eat, but not to bad. My kids liked them, so that was good.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.