Betty Crocker’s Gluten-Free Mixes – almost as good as the original

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix Cupcake Recipe 2
I was so excited when I heard the news of Betty Crocker’s new line of gluten-free baking mixes.  I couldn’t wait to try them.  I ordered the six pack from amazon.com because they aren’t available at my local grocery store yet.  I opened my box when it arrived this week and eagerly made a box of the Yellow Cake mix into gluten-free cupcakes.  The result?  Meh – they were ok.
Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix Review 2
A little grainy, they crumbled apart and the flavor was just plain.  Not at all like what I remembered of Betty Crocker’s original yellow cake mix.  Sigh.  After all of that build up it was a bit disheartening.  Not one to be satisfied with an average product I decided to see if I could tweak the recipe to make them as good as my well-loved gluten-free cupcakes.  Success!  They turned out great and my gluten-glutton friends gave them a big thumbs up too.  It requires slightly more effort than the Betty Crocker directions but will give you a much moister cupcake with a better flavor and texture.  I’m still excited to have this as an option because the Gluten-Free Pantry’s mix from my original cupcakes can be tough to find.  You can see in the photo below, my tweaked Betty Crocker cupcakes are a little more golden with the pudding and orange juice (though you wouldn’t taste the orange juice if you didn’t know it was there).

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix Cupcake Recipe 5

New and Improved Gluten-Free Cupcakes Recipe
1 package Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix

1 3.4 oz package Jello vanilla instant pudding

1/3 cup granulated sugar

4 large eggs plus one egg white room temperature

1/2 cup canola oil

3/4 cup orange juice (no pulp)

1 Tablespoon good vanilla extract

*DO NOT FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS ON THE PACKAGE

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Mix the wet ingredients in a medium sized bowl.  In a large bowl sift together the dry ingredients, add the wet ingredients  and   beat   on  medium speed until completely combined

Line  a muffin tin with cupcake liners.  Fill 2/3 of the way full.

Bake for about 23-25 minutes, until the cupcakes are golden and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  

So let’s admit it, cupcakes at their best are really just a “frosting delivery device”, this buttercream frosting will rock your world. 

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting Recipe (adapted from Domino Sugar)

1 pound Confectioners Sugar

1 stick (8T) of good unsalted butter, softened

2 teaspoons good vanilla extract

1/4 cup of whole milk

Combine half of the sugar with the butter and beat on low speed.  Add the wet ingredients and beat.  Slowly add the rest of the sugar while mixing until combined.  Beat on medium-high speed for at least two minutes until the frosting is smooth and creamy.  If you want the frosting to be a bit stiffer (better for decorating) add powdered sugar a couple of tablespoons at a time. Frost cupcakes with icing at room temperature. 

Have you had luck with any of the other Betty Crocker Gluten-Free mixes?  (my review of the Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies to come)

Here are the ingredients of each of the mixes:

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix Ingredients: Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Sugar, Potato Starch, Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), Xanthan Gum, Salt.

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Devils Food Cake Mix Ingredients: Sugar, Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Cocoa Processed wtih Alkali, Tapioca Starch, Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), Salt, Guar Gum.

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Brownies Mix Ingredients: Sugar, Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), Cocoa Processed wtih Alkali, Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Corn Starch, Xanthan Gum, Salt.

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies Mix Ingredients: Rice Flour, Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (sugar, chocolate liquor, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), Brown Sugar, Sugar, Potato Starch, Potato Flour, Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate) Salt.

Pin It

Kim Bouldin said,

June 29, 2009 @ 12:47 am

Good to know! This is the one mix I have that I haven’t made yet. I am excited to try it! :)

Amy Green/Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free said,

June 29, 2009 @ 8:20 pm

This is the first post I’ve read on Betty Crocker’s gf cupcakes that gives another method for making them. I am sugar-free, too, so I can’t eat them however I so appreciate the care you’ve taken in giving your readers honest feedback and another option.

FYI – linked to your Strawberry Poppy Seed Tart with Mascarpone Filling. It inspired today’s post – Fresh Cantaloupe with Mascarpone Cream & Double Berry Sauce. http://simplysugarandglutenfree.blogspot.com/2009/06/fresh-cantaloupe-with-mascarpone-cream.html

kim said,

June 30, 2009 @ 12:15 pm

Thanks for the review! I have had the chocolate chip and the brownie gluten free mixes from Betty Crocker and they both are pretty good. We made the brownies by themselves and loved them. Then we made the chocolate chip brownie bars and those are pretty good too. Haven’t done the cookies by themselves yet. I’ll def keep your modifications in mind for when we try the cake mixes.

» Betty Crocker - Gluten Free Cake Mixes and More! | A Gluten Free Guide said,

July 1, 2009 @ 4:33 pm

[...] Here is my review of the Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix [...]

» Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies Review | A Gluten Free Guide said,

July 3, 2009 @ 9:59 pm

[...] trying the Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix with mixed results, I wasn’t sure what to expect from the Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Chocolate [...]

heidi said,

July 15, 2009 @ 4:48 pm

Hi! Did you try the chocolate ones yet? IME, there is a huge difference in “authenticity” between the chocolate and the vanilla. I also found that the vanilla ones were a bit flat. However I made a batch of each kind for my swim team last week and nobody noticed that they weren’t regular cupcakes. I am thrilled that B Crocker is addressing celiac. cheers. Heidi

Gabrielle said,

July 27, 2009 @ 8:31 pm

Hiya, I’m Gabrielle. You posted my wedding pictures because I used your originally yellow cupcake recipe. I wasn’t keeping up with your blog but I’m all caught up now. ^.^

Anyway I tried these yellow cupcakes and was disappointed. Your cupcakes have ruined me to any other gluten free cupcakes. I plan on trying your new recipe when I buy another pack, have you tried the chocolate version? I bought it but haven’t made it yet, do you have any ideas on how to make it or is it ok the way it is?

Thanks!

» Gluten-Free Giveaway and Samples - Plus a Review of the GF Brownies and Cake Mix from Betty Crocker | A Gluten Free Guide said,

July 28, 2009 @ 2:39 am

[...] after purchasing six-packs from Amazon.com for the Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix and the Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix from Betty Crocker, I received a sample pack from [...]

Amy said,

July 29, 2009 @ 10:13 pm

Your recipe is AMAZING! I tried a package of the yellow cake as cupcakes (had to make them dairy free because of my little guy’s allergies) and they were so flavorless and grainy. Really, really disappointing. I decided to try once more with your adjusted recipe and they are FANTASTIC! Honestly some of the best cupcakes I’ve ever had, GFCF or not! Thank you thank you for the recipe!

Gina said,

October 6, 2009 @ 8:24 pm

Your recipe is so good! I doubled your recipe to make a 2 layer round cake for my husband’s birthday. He loved it and couldn’t really tell the difference — it tasted just like a regular cake, but is just a little more dense, but not at all grainy like other things made with rice flour. Of course, because I made a cake, I had to adjust the cooking times to about 40 minutes (the time stated on the cake mix box). Thanks so much for this recipe!!

Sylvia said,

December 14, 2009 @ 2:45 am

I did the Betty Crocker Gluten Free and had the same problems…. I haven’t re-tried because it didn’t seem worth the time. but reading about the great results everyone is having I guess it might be worth the effort.
-Sylvia
Padrons

Tracy said,

January 20, 2010 @ 4:33 am

I was excited to see you experiment with the yellow cake mix. I plan on doing the same. I was thinking of trying to convert it to make powdered donuts! That’s the one thing my 3 yr old daughter keeps begging me for. I love how the cake itself is so fine and not gritty. I’m hoping to create lots of recipes with it. Have you made anything else?

Bridget said,

February 13, 2010 @ 9:03 pm

These are wonderful!!! My 4yr old twin girls will love them!! I like the ease of the Betty Crocker mixes, but the recipe NEEDED to be doctored up! Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe!!!!!

Vicky said,

February 14, 2010 @ 1:30 am

Tried your recipe…THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! They really DO taste delicious! I made some filled with strawberry jam and they were amazing! Not not just “gluten free” good

Jenny Ricks said,

March 17, 2010 @ 4:10 pm

I made these last night and they are delicious! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I was pleasantly surprised!

Tammy said,

March 20, 2010 @ 6:22 pm

Wow! Fantastic Cupcakes! I made them with your new and improved recipe and they really are great. Thanks so much for taking the time to tweak the recipe and share!

Lisa J. said,

March 31, 2010 @ 7:00 pm

Hi! Has anyone tried the new gluten-free mixes without using eggs? If so, what did you use and how did it come out?
Thanks!

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake: Tweaked and Delicious! | gluten-freelicious said,

May 21, 2010 @ 7:45 pm

[...]  They were dry and crumbly, and the taste was just eh.  Cat had encouraged me to try her tweaked recipe long ago, but I was hesitant.  With limited other options, however, I decided to give her modified [...]

Ed said,

June 4, 2010 @ 1:39 am

I appreciate that someone did the trial and error here. I made this with the canola oil the first time, then later with the same amount of butter (what the BC recipe calls for). Votes of friends and family who had both – hands down for the butter (duh). Why would you use canola oil anyway!? Why wouldn’t you want to make this taste as good as it can be? IT’S CAKE!!! If you want to eat healthy, eat something else.

Recipe – New & Improved Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix cupcakes « said,

June 13, 2010 @ 1:29 pm

[...] For the full blog post and frosting recipe that this came from, click here. [...]

Recipe – New & Improved Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix cupcakes « said,

June 14, 2010 @ 1:31 pm

[...] For the full blog post and frosting recipe that this came from, click here. [...]

Mary N. said,

July 7, 2010 @ 4:53 pm

This is a great recipe; it’s hard to tell it’s gluten free. I’ve also used this recipe for the chocolate cake mix, using chocolate pudding mix instead of the vanilla. I also melted a square of unsweetened chocolate with the oil. These cupcakes also turned out delicious. There is just a hint of orange flavor from the orange juice, but it really compliments the chocolate flavor.

Marina said,

March 2, 2011 @ 7:53 pm

I’ve tried your tweaked recipe with cupcakes and my son loved them! Thank you! How would you adjust the baking time if you were making a cake in a 13×9 pan?

Liz said,

April 4, 2011 @ 6:49 pm

I also have done a lemon version with lemon pudding and lemon juice and frosted with lemon buttercream icing. There were wonderful! Thanks for the tweaked recipe.

Pam said,

December 4, 2011 @ 3:13 am

Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! Absolutely amazing GF cupcake mix! I will use this recipe from now on. Cupcakes are back!

Vernelle Mortimer said,

April 8, 2012 @ 3:23 am

I made these cupcakes and are great. Tried the same receipt with chocolate cake mix and they are horrible.
Do you have a new and improved receipt for Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Mix?

Charlotte said,

August 30, 2012 @ 4:48 am

I just made a boston cream pie using this recipe for my celiacky mom’s birthday and they were absolutely amazing! You really cannot tell that the cake is gluten free! Thank you so much for making this recipe!

Cinnamon Sugar Cake | I’m A Celiac said,

August 6, 2014 @ 8:38 pm

[...] good if you follow the directions on the box.  However if you want to make it awesome follow these directions, I also list them below. Print [...]

Lemon Berry Cupcakes | I’m A Celiac said,

August 6, 2014 @ 9:09 pm

[...] to make the cupcakes.  If you are using the GF Betty Crocker mix I HIGHLY recommend following these instructions instead of the ones on the box.  You end up with a much better tasting cupcake – trust [...]

Gluten Free Christmas | I’m A Celiac said,

August 6, 2014 @ 9:11 pm

[...] dishes and froze one for laterSweet Potato Casserole  - A big favorite with my familyBirthday Cake for my sister – This is the BEST recipe to make the Betty Crocker GF mix taste super good and [...]

Cinnamon Sugar Cake | I'm A Celiac said,

August 8, 2014 @ 2:51 pm

[...] good if you follow the directions on the box.  However if you want to make it awesome follow these directions, I also list them below. Print [...]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.